Paleo Is Amazing!

If you’ve tried every single diet out there and have failed, Paleo may be the solution for you.

paleo-diet-basics

(Source.)

Paleo has to be the easiest diet I’ve ever been on. The diet is based on what our early human ancestors were eating in order to survive–meat, vegetables, nuts, eggs, and occasionally fruit. I say it’s the easiest diet you can do because you only have to eat when you’re hungry, if you wish, and because of how low-calorie this diet is, you don’t have to worry about counting calories as long as you portion-control, and eat 3-4 times a day.

After about a week on this diet, your cravings will disappear, and the scale will go down rapidly. If you have a lot of weight to lose, however, I suggest you cut down on nuts and eat fruit occasionally–limit to one piece of fruit a day if you could (I just say this because fruit, however healthy and delicious they are, they are packed with a lot of sugar). You will find yourself being full for hours on end because vegetables have a lot of volume in water, and it takes longer to digest.

If you hate vegetables like I did, you can start by finding out the vegetables you actually do like. Try to find 3 different vegetables you enjoy, and eat one of them with each protein-meal. Try to avoid potatoes, as they’re very starchy, but you can indulge on a baked potato 1-2 times a week (and yes, you can even add a bit of natural butter, as it is a healthy fat). You can eat a salad with each meal if you wish (of course, no croutons nor tortilla strips, but you can add a sprinkle of cheese and a spoonful of salad-dressing), or a vegetable soup (no rice!!).

Being on this diet, I have lost a total of 12 pounds in just a little over 20 days. I have to admit that I did have a few cheat days, but adding exercise should motivate me to stay on a permanently clean diet until I reach my weight-loss goal.

Next weigh-in is this Sunday! I’m excited!

 

Leave a Reply

